‘State Ranking for Teen Driver Safety 2020
i[(‘ T

Montana 51 50 51 ‘ 51
North Dakota 45 43 50 50
Louisiana 48 51 43 49
South Dakota 25 41 42 48
Mississippi 47 49 46 47
Missouri 49 . 40 38 . 46
Wyoming 44 47 . 48 45
Alabama 43 45 47 44
Oklahoma 41 28 4 43
Arkansas 50 48 32 42

Ranking Criteria:
- Number of teen driver fatalities per 10,000 licensed teen drivers
- Breadth of Graduated Driving License (GDL) laws
- Average annual insurance costs for teen drivers
- Teen drinking and driving rates
- Teen emadailing/texting and driving rates
- Seat belt use for 18-year-old to 44-year-olds

States with the lowest seat belt usage rates (all less than 75%):

- South Dakota
- New Hampshire
- North Dakota
- Wyoming
- Nebraska
- Montfana
Source: Carlnsurance.com
Teen driving safety 2020: Least and most dangerous States
(carinsurgnce.com)




TEEN DRIVING LAWS RATING CHART

Number of new teen driving laws since January 2020: One 6-Month Holding Period Enacted (SD);
One Supervised Driving Requirement Enacted (SD); and, One Passenger Restriction Provision
Enacted (SD).
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® = QOptimal law
@ = Good (At least 5 optimal provisions)
= Caution (Between 2 and 4 optimal provisions)
® = Danger (Less than 2 optimal provisions)
(No credit is given for laws that are subject to secondary enforcement for any GDL provision that is exempted based on driver

education)
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Minimum age for unsupervised driving

Hover over map for more detail.

14,6 months & 15 "7 15,6 months i 16 i 16, 3 months 16, 4 months

B 16, 6 months &7 17

Source: Insurance Institute for Highway Safety

Teenagers (iihs.org)

Licensing Requirements of Neighboring States

South Dakota

- Driver must be at least 14 years of age to obtain an instruction permit

- Driver must be accompanied by a guardian to a South Dakota licensing
location with a required list of documents

- Driver must take a knowledge test (or have successfully completed a state-
approved driver education course) to earn a permit

-Driver must hold this permit for a minimum of 180 days or 90 days if an approved
driver education class has been successfully completed.

- With this instruction permit, Driver will need to drive under the supervision of a
licensed adult at all fimes.




- After this time period, Driver can apply for a Restricted Minor's Permit if they
have not had any traffic convictions in the last six months

- Driver must pass a drive test at a driver exam station location or have
successfully completed a state-approved driver education course. All drive
tests must be scheduled. With a restricted license, Driver will be able to drive
unaccompanied from 6:00 a.m.-10:00 p.m. Driver may drive with a legal
guardian from 10:00 p.m. to 6:00 a.m.

- Driver may not have any passengers, other than immediate family or
household members, for the first 6 months driving on a restricted minor's
permit. After 6 months, Driver may carry 1 passenger who is not part of your
immediate family or household.

- To get a full operator’s license, Driver must:
e Be atleast 16 years old
Meet all conditions of the instruction permit
Have driven on a restricted minor's permit for at least 6 months
Have driven conviction-free for six months
Have your parent or guardian's written approval

Source: South Dakota Department of Public Safety
South Dakota Teen Drivers | SD DPS

2020 article regarding South Dakota’s new restrictions: Teenage drivers in South
Dakota will have to follow some new restrictions starting in July. (keloland.com)

Minnesota

Phase | - Instruction Permit

- Must be at least 15 years of age.

- Must have completed the appropriate amount of classroom instruction and be
enrolled in behind-the-wheel instruction.

- Must pass vision and knowledge (written) tests, complete application and pay
the required fee.

- Parent or legal guardian's signature and certification required on application.

Conditions
- Permit holder may drive under the supervision of a certified driving instructor,
parent or guardian or other licensed driver 21 years of age or older
- Every occupant must wear a properly fastened seat belt or use a properly
fastened child restraint system



